On May 4th, 1998 Middle Pomeranian Scientific Society of Environment Protection, founded by Professor Tadeusz Piecuch,  was registered by the Local Court in Koszalin. The main goal of the founded Society was to publish scientific journal of high quality. This the origin of Rocznik Ochrona Srodowiska. On August 4th, 1998 the Journal was registered by the Polish National Library with ISSN 1506-218X.

At first the Journal was focusing on a wide range of topics associated with environmental protection and engineering. Then, the range of topics published in ROS was extended to include sanitary installations, the economy of the environment protection, legal issues of the environment protection, education and human health connected with environment protection.

Editorial Board consists of professors representing following scientific institutions in Poland and abroad: Koszalin University of Technology, University of Szczecin, Silesian University of Technology, Wroclaw University of Technology, Gdańsk University of Technology, Institute of Oceanology of Polish Academy of Sciences, University of Opole, Institute of Environmental Engineering of Polish Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University.

The Journal has an international character. Papers of authors from such countries as: Austria, Chile, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Mozambique, Germany, Portugal, USA, Russia, Ukraine, Lithuania, Turkey, were published in ROS.

ROS can be found in most libraries of Polish universities and technical universities in Warsaw, Krakow, Wroclaw, Poznan, Lublin, Torun, Bydgoszcz, and also in abroad scientific centers in Austria, the Czech Republic, Greece, Spain, India, Ireland, Canada, Russia, USA, Turkey, Great Britain, Ukraine.

Currently, the Board of Middle Pomeranian Scientific Society of Environment Protection are:
- Jacek Piekarski - Chairman,
- Alexander Shkarovskiy - vice Chairman for science,
- Tomasz Dąbrowski - vice Chairman for an organization,
- Janusz Dąbrowski - Scientific Secretary,
- Włodzimierz Deluga - Scientific vice Secretary.